top of page
  • Writer's pictureLanie Perez

Why I joined MY SCHOOL'S DANCE TEAM

I've grown to figure out everyone has a special talent or interest they are solely dedicated to. They'll flourished in this hobby, and now the hobby is more recognizable than the person themselves.


Try this but times it by 4!


Yup that's right, I've survived countless 7 am practices, and plenty of costume changes all four years of high school. And NOPE! I don't regret a single moment of it!



 

I became interested in dancing when my sister started dancing on her high school team. The poise and manner of drill team struck with me, and I loved the iconic skirt, cowboy hat, and boots that distinguished this Texas style of dancing



vintage kilgore rangerettes

So, when my school decided to open up, I tried out for the team. Now, I'm going to be really honest and blunt (as I promised when I made this blog) but I surely wasn't the best dancer on the team! The director in charge was only looking for potential and thankfully I wasn't bad enough to not make it. On the other hand, I had way too much improvement to even call myself a dancer.


This downplayed my self-esteem around this time, and I felt like I was in a rut. I didn't know how to improve, and if I tried, it still wasn't good enough. I couldn't get the right movements down. I was either choppy, or too flowy for the dance. Either that or I didn't make the dance altogether.


Luckily, junior year took a completely different turn from me.


I finally noticed what I needed to improve on. My technique helped me turn out my pirouettes and I noticed my leaps got higher when I pushed my back leg higher. I even attempted a solo for competition season which made me realize my full-potential as a dancer!




Me, senior year


For senior year, I've never felt more confident in my style and enjoy dancing. My favorite styles are contemporary and drill team. Even though I'm not the best at them, I enjoy kicking because that's what makes drill team so different compared to pom squads.


I've had my original uniform since my freshman year. If you can't tell, that's why my uniform is growing a little small on me.


I learned a lot being on the team. I learned responsibility by managing my grades and picking up routines in a small amount of time.


I learned image can go a long way. It's what helped me make sure I present myself to the world neatly and politely (which inferred my interest in public relations).


If your interested in joining the same dance team I am on then let me know! I enjoy helping others make the team and experience pep rallies, football games, competition, and spring show!





25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page