top of page
  • Writer's pictureLanie Perez

my SUMMER PLAYLIST

So, this summer might not the move considering everything is closed down and I'm broke. I decided to put together this playlist just because I feel more in touch with the beat of the songs, not so much the words. Also, I'm a big citypop fan and I love Japanese music from the '80s so it was a huge influence on my music taste! Anyways, you know tha vibes...




Homage - Mile High Club

This is my go-to song when I drive down Ocean St.

Telephone - Junko Ohashi

I heard this song once on a citypop playlist and found myself zooming to the comments and finding the title of the song...


Always Forever - Cults

It's the one song I actually repeat.


Adore You - Harry Styles SLOWED

This was actually my first Harry Styles song I listened to (lol pls don't hate me). Sometimes I never have the energy to listen to new music but after hearing it on TikTok I just really loved its vibe.


All Night Long - TikTok Version

This song reminds me of the 90s or the essence behind glam if that makes sense?


Flyday Chinatown - Yasuha

If you've been on TikTok I'm sure you've heard the remixed version of it but I ended up finding the JPOP version from the '80s. I love the sound of her voice.


Boy With Luv - BTS feat. Halsey

I'm so into feel-good jams you should listen to


Freak - Doja Cat

This is the oldest Doja Cat song I've heard (Yes, this was before Moo!) and before she got called out for being racist I was the biggest Doja stan and I was really into this song! Anyways, she'll remain my problematic fave.


Dress Down - Kaoru Akimoto

Paying homage to my first citypop song! When I first heard this song back in 2016 I was constantly listening to it. Now, four years later I am creeping back into my favorite genre.


Love Talkin' Honey It's You - Tatsuro Yamashito

This song was sampled in a citypop song which I really liked but after researching samples I came across the actual song. I like this version way better


Forever Young - Youth Group

This song reminds me so much of nostalgia and being youthful. I'm so close to turning 20 and it makes me really sad because I wish I could stay 19 forever. I feel that this song pays homage to growing up despite me wanting to stay forever young.


Face To Face - Daft Punk

Daft Punk is one of my favorite bands in the world and their Discovery Album is God-tier to me. It's so weird cause I always find a song from their album to obsess over and then I hear another one and I'm like "nope, this one is it." Well, at the moment, this is the song I'm obsessing over.


Lonestar - Michellita

I saw this girl on TikTok promoting her song and after hearing a snippet, I really liked it. Check it out!


Stand By Me- Mickey Gilley

If there was one song that's completely out of place, it's definitely this one. I watched Urban Cowboy a few weeks back and found myself trying to find this song on Shazam. If anything, I really like this rendition and the way his voice sounds.


Black Swan - BTS

When this song came out, my sister was begging me to listen to it and I was hooked to it! I'm starting to really like boy bands.


Fiona Coyne - Skylar Spence

I ended up discovering this song after someone made a post on Twitter saying that Doja Cat stole the beat to it for "Say So." I already knew about Skylar Spence so I wanted to hear this version and I absolutely love it. For some odd reason, it reminds me of surfing at the beach or going to a bonfire.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page