top of page
  • Writer's pictureLanie Perez

I Found 7 Ways to Destress So You Don't Have Too!

There's a point in our lives where we literally cannot control how we feel or how to deal with the pent up stress from school or work. But, stress is a normal part of life and we must learn to live or grow with it. For myself, when college applications made it impossible for me to relax, I found my own alternatives to calm myself down.


Now that school is starting up soon, I found the perfect ways to destress when going back to school!


1. Take a Relaxing Shower

Sit back and soak yourself, you deserve it! Taking showers or bathing has proven to release the built-up stress in your body. “Your skin releases endorphins in response to the soothing warm water the same way that endorphins are released when you feel the sun on your skin,” says Dr. Bobby Buka, a dermatologist based in New York.




Lavender & Vanilla Bath Salts



Target currently sells PREP Your Skin Lavender and Vanilla Bath Salts for $7.99. But if your stuck with no tub like me, bath melts are an alternative! Ulta Beauty sells Aromatherapy Shower Tablets



Aromatherapy Shower Tablets





2. Paint


Get your creative juices flowing and paint to keep your mind off of the busy workload in front of you! Do you want to paint that tree? Go ahead. How about that pretty skyline? It's meant to be adored at! Painting has been proven to strengthen memory, build motor-skill, and nurtures emotional growth according to this source.



You don't have to be an absolute pro at painting. Michaels sells this Young Artist Learn to Paint Set for $19.00.






3. Yoga

Now you finally have an excuse to try out yoga!


Yoga helps reduce stress by lowering heart rate and lowering heart rate. What better way to start off your yoga journey by buying a brand new mat! . Check out this eco-friendly TPE yoga mat from Amazon.







4. Vent Your Frustrations

I find the easiest way to de-stress is by letting frustrations go. Whether it's writing (tsk, tsk), or talking to a friend or close relative, letting out your frustrations helps you release the negative energy inside you. But if those options aren't available for you, the highly rated Wreck this Journal puts a fun twist to crafting!





Wreck this Journal is available at Barnes and Noble for $4.88




5. Avoid loud music and opt for soothing tunes

Yes, I know your kind of music is loud, fast-paced, and easier to get things done but have you ever thought it could be making you more tense? According to UNR, Upbeat music can make you feel more optimistic and positive about life. A slower tempo can quiet your mind and relax your muscles, making you feel soothed while releasing the stress of the day.


Spotify has awesome playlists for all kinds of moods. These are my top three!






6. Prioritize Your Time!

I cannot stress (get it?) enough how important time management is!


Well, when I did have time management, I was able to create my schedule and get everything done when I had various tasks. Personally, I love looking through my social media in my free time but it spills over when I need to get something done. Here is an awesome guide to time management for high school or college students.



Planner $5.00


If this doesn't do well for you, various apps on the app store are helpful. Toggl and

Timely are great for online time management.







7. Plan Your Study Snacks

Study smarter, not harder with these light and nutritious snacks to get your mind working!


Foods like carrots, blueberries, string cheese, and trail mix are beneficial to your brain. Here are a few recipes I've researched if you want to bring out the little chef inside of you.








25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page